Johann Wolfgang Goethe University


Since its foundation in the year 1914 the Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University has developed into one of the most renowned German universities. It was established as an endowment university of Frankfurt citizens, a tradition that has been revitalized in recent years by numerous foundation professorships and prizes by corporations, citizens and institutions of the city and region.

In 16 faculties Goethe University offers a wide spectrum of studies in research and learning for 48 000 students. During studies great value is placed on communicating excellent scientific methods and specialist knowledge. Students and graduates are offered moreover a far-reaching programme of opportunities for extended studies and further education.

Thanks to future-oriented research focal points the University has secured a position among Germany’s leading research universities. The scientific profile is supported by numerous inter-disciplinary facilities and projects, special fields of research, post-graduate courses and promotion programmes. The University Library with its extensive inventory and collections is one of the central scientific libraries in Germany.

The University still has four current locations: Campus Bockenheim, Campus Westend, Campus Riedberg (natural sciences) and Campus Niederrad (medicine, clinic). In the course of a comprehensive location realignment with an investment volume of Euro 600 million stipulated by the State Government, the University is to be restructured by 2014 into Europe’s “most modern university”. The original location Bockenheim will then be relinquished. Most faculties have already been relocated to Campus Westend.


Back  |  Print  |  Send site tip