Prizes and Honours


The City Frankfurt am Main awards three major culture prizes named after outstanding artists and philosophers of the city: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Max Beckmann and Theodor W. Adorno. The prizes are awarded in three-year rhythm. They are valued at fifty thousand Euros and they honour leading living persons of international standing for their life’s work. The Max Beckmann Prize serves to promote and acknowledge outstanding achievements in visual art.

The City Frankfurt am Main pays tribute to the private honorary commitment of significant citizens with various honours. According to work and deed of cultural and artistic achievements the Ehrenplakette (Honorary plaque) or the Goetheplakette (Goethe plaque) of the City Frankfurt am Main are awarded to personalities whose selfless work has enriched the cultural life of the city.