Frankfurter Musikpreis

Patron: The Federal Association of Music Instrument Producers and Messe Frankfurt GmbH.

Year of foundation: The Frankfurter Musikpreis was set up in the year 1980. In alternating years the Prize is awarded in the fields of classical and popular music (jazz, rock, pop).

Branches: The Frankfurter Musikpreis is awarded to composers and musicians, it is also conceived as the recognition of personalities from the fields of musicology and music education. The Prize is awarded for outstanding achievement in the pertinent field and for its the significance for national and international music.

Award cycle: Annually on the occasion of the Music Fair/Pro Light + Sound. The award ceremony is held on the evening prior to the Music Fair.

Award Committee: The Award Committee is the "Stiftung Frankfurter Musikpreis zur Internationale Musikmesse". The prizewinner is decided by the curatorship of the Foundation and consists of three regular and up to four elected members:

  • the Lord Mayoress of the City of Frankfurt am Main as Chairperson
  • the Chairman of the Federal Association of Music Instrument Producers as Deputy Chairperson
  • the Director of Messe Frankfurt as Deputy Chairperson
  • two representatives of the German Music Council
  • two representatives of the German Music Colleges

  • Award: Euro 15.000


    2020 Peter Maffay and Band
    2019 Quatuor Ébène - string quartet: Pierre Colombet, Gabriel Le Magadure (violinists), Marie Chilemme (violist) and Raphaël Merlin (violoncellist)
    2018 Bundesjazzorchester (German Jazz Orchestra – BuJazzO)
    2017 David Garrett (violinist) 
    2016 Al Jarreau (singer and songwriter)
    2015 Peter Sadlo (percussionist and teacher)
    2014 Ernie Watts (saxophonist)
    2013 Marie-Luise Neunecker (horn player and teacher) 
    2012 John McLaughlin (guitarist and composer)
    2011 Anne Sofie von Otter (mezzo-soprano)
    2010 Keith Emerson (keyboard player, composer)
    2009 Dr. José Antonio Abreu (conductor, composer, mentor
    2008 Paquito D'Rivera (saxophonist, clarinetist, composer)
    2007 Peter Eötvös (conductor, composer and teacher)
    2006 Peter Gabriel (pop/rock musician)
    2005 György Ligeti (composer)
    2004 Udo Lindenberg (rock musician)
    2003 Walter Levin (violinist and Professor for Chamber Music)
    2002 -
    2001 Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau (singer)
    2000 Klaus Doldinger (saxophonist)
    1999 Prof. Michael Gielen (conductor and composer)
    1998 Peter Herbolzheimer (arranger, interpreter and composer)
    1997 Prof. Hans Zender (composer and conductor)
    1996 Wolfgang Niedecken (singer and songwriter)
    1995 Tabea Zimmermann (violist)
    1994 Brian Eno (musician and sound artist)
    1993 Harry Kupfer (producer)
    1992 Georg Solti (conductor)
    1991 Aribert Reiman (composer)
    1990 Chick Corea (jazz pianist)
    1989 Ludwig Güttler (trumpeter)
    1988 Heinz Holliger (oboist)
    1987 Carl Dahlhaus (musicologist)
    1986 Albert Mangelsdorff (jazz trombonist)
    1985 Brigitte Fassbaender (chamber singer)
    1984 Alfred Brendel (pianist)
    1983 Edgar Krapp (organist)
    1982 Gidon Kremer (violinist)


Zurück  |  Drucken  |  Versenden
Siehe auch: