The Otto Hahn Prize

To commemorate his 90th birthday the City of Frankfurt am Main established the Otto Hahn Prize of the City of Frankfurt am Main in 1969. Since 2005, it has been awarded every two years jointly by the City of Frankfurt am Main, the Society of German Chemists (GDCh) and the German Physical Science Society (DPG).

The City of Frankfurt am Main is under a special obligation to its famous son and honorary citizen Dr Otto Hahn and his outstanding scientific achievements. Otto Hahn was awarded the Nobel Prize for his achievements in the field of atomic research. With the findings of his scientific research he created the fundamentals for the use of nuclear energy. His wish was that it was to be used for peaceful purposes only.

The prize is endowed with € 50 000.
The next award takes place in the year 2009.

Awarded persons:
1970 Prof. Dr. Karl zum Winkel
1972 Prof. Dr. Eudolf Schulten
1974 Dr. August Weckesser
1976 Prof. Dr. Adolf Birkhofer
1979 Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Gentner
1980 Prof. Dr. Otto Haxel
1982 Prof. Dr. Walter Greiner
1984 Prof. Dr. Heinz Maier-Leibnitz
1986 Prof. Klaus Knizia
1988 Prof. Dr. Franz Baumgärtner
1992 Dr. Olga Aleinikova
1994 Prof. Dr. Willy Wölfli
1996 Dr. Sigurd Hofmann
1996 Prof. Dr. Gottfried Münzenberg
1998 Dr. Norbert Trautmann
1998 Prof. Dr. Dr. Hans Blix
1998 Prof. Dr. Jens Kratz
2000 Dr. Hartmut Eickhoff
2000 Dr. Thomas Haberer
2000 Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kraft
2005 Prof. Dr. Theodor W. Hänsch
2007 Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl
2009 Stefan Hell
2011 Prof. Dr. Manfred Reetz
2013 Prof. Dr. Ferenc Krausz
2015 Prof. Dr. Jürgen Troe
2017 Prof. Dr. Karsten Danzmann
2019 Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Martin Jansen

Back  |  Print  |  Sent site tip