The City of Frankfurt am Main is under a special obligation to its famous son and honorary citizen Dr Otto Hahn and his outstanding scientific achievements. To commemorate his 90th birthday the City established the Otto Hahn Prize of the City of Frankfurt am Main. Since 1953, the Society of German Chemists (GDCh) in conjunction with the membership societies of the German Central Committee for Chemistry and the German Physical Science Society (DPG) have awarded the “Otto Hahn Prize for Chemistry and Physics”. Purpose of the Prize is to promote science by recognizing outstanding scientific achievements, particularly in the fields of chemistry, physics and applied engineering. This is coupled with the intention of underlining science’s responsibility to society.

The Otto-Hahn Prize comprises a certificate, a commemorative medal and prize money generally amounting to € 50,000.


1970 Prof. Dr. Karl zum Winkel
1972 Prof. Dr. Eudolf Schulten
1974 Dr. August Weckesser
1976 Prof. Dr. Adolf Birkhofer
1979 Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Gentner
1980 Prof. Dr. Otto Haxel
1982 Prof. Dr. Walter Greiner
1984 Prof. Dr. Heinz Maier-Leibnitz
1986 Prof. Klaus Knizia
1988 Prof. Dr. Franz Baumgärtner
1992 Dr. Olga Aleinikova
1994 Prof. Dr. Willy Wölfli
1996 Dr. Sigurd Hofmann
1996 Prof. Dr. Gottfried Münzenberg
1998 Dr. Norbert Trautmann
1998 Prof. Dr. Dr. Hans Blix
1998 Prof. Dr. Jens Kratz
2000 Dr. Hartmut Eickhoff
2000 Dr. Thomas Haberer
2000 Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kraft
2005 Prof. Dr. Theodor W. Hänsch
2007 Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl
2009 Stefan Hell
2011 Prof. Dr. Manfred Reetz
2013 Prof. Dr. Ferenc Krausz
2015 Prof. Dr. Jürgen Troe
2017 Prof. Dr. Karsten Danzmann
2019 Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Martin Jansen
2021 Prof. Dr. Klaus Blaum
2023 Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Herbert Waldmann