In memory of the most outstanding representative of German expressionism, Max Beckmann, who from 1925 to 1933 taught at the Städelschule as artist and lecturer, the City of Frankfurt am Main awards every three years on 12th February, the artist’s birthday, the Max Beckmann Prize.

The award of the Prize is to promote and acknowledge outstanding achievements in the fields of painting, graphic art, sculpture and architecture The Max Beckmann Prize comprises an artistically designed certificate and has a value of euro 50,000.

Prize Winners

1978 Richard Oelze (artist)
1981 Arnulf Rainer (artist)
1984 Willem de Kooning (artist)
1987 Erwin Heerich/Walter Pichler (Architect/Graphic Artist)
1990 Bruce Nauman (artist)
1993 Ilya Kabakov (artist)
1996 Jacques Herzog / Pierre de Meuron (Architects)
2000 Harald Szeemann (curator)
2004 Maria Lassnig (artist)
2007 Richard Hamilton (artist)
2010 Barbara Klemm (artist)
2013 Otto Piene (artist)
2016 Agnès Varda (director)
2019 Cindy Sherman (artist)
2022 VALIE EXPORT (artist)