International German Piano Award


The International German Piano Award is an initiative of the International Piano Forum and is awarded in cooperation with the German Conservatoires. The award is open to promising young pianists who have the potential to become concert pianists both in terms of their musical as well as their overall performance. A jury of renowned experts will select the nominees and eventually the winner of the International German Piano Award in an independent procedure supervised by a notary.

The award comes with prize money of €20.000. In addition, the winner as well as all nominees will receive further benefits including performance opportunities, contacts to orchestras, concert promoters and record labels. 

The International German Piano Award is presented annually during the International Music Fair in Frankfurt with the aim to promote outstanding young artists.

The International Piano Forum Frankfurt is an initiative of personalities and lovers of classical piano music in Frankfurt. The forum’s patroness is the Lord Mayor of Frankfurt, Petra Roth. The society’s activities are focussed on two cultural events taking place twice a year: the Frankfurt Piano Academy organizes master classes with renowned pianists and the ceremony for the International German Piano Award. These two major events are supplemented by a series of piano recitals by young artists.

Award Winners

Konstantin Emelyanov

Dmitry Ablogin

JeungBeum Sohn

Hans H. Suh

Eric Lu

Yekwon Sunwoo

Misha Namirovsky

Dmitri Levkovich

Lukas Geniusas

Amir Tebenikhin

International Piano Forum